Reckless Driving and DUI in Las Vegas, Nevada
What is Reckless Driving?
Most traffic offenses in the state of Nevada result in nothing more than a citation, but reckless driving carries criminal penalties. These penalties include:
- the fine and
- jail time.
If you are charged with reckless driving in Las Vegas, Nevada, or you have questions about the penalties for reckless driving, contact a DUI attorney at Heshmati & Associates at 702-432-1000 to discuss your case. Initial consultation is always free.
The NRS Chapter 484B.653 defines reckless driving. It may include, among other things any of the following:
- Driving a vehicle in willful or wanton disregard of the safety of persons or property.
- Driving a vehicle in an unauthorized speed contest on a public highway.
- Organize an unauthorized speed contest on a public highway.
Reckless Driving: Penalty
Reckless driving is a misdemeanor traffic offense in Nevada.
The penalty for reckless driving:
|Type of Offense||Penalty|
|1st Offense||Fine no less than $250, but no more than $1,000, or, fine and imprisonment for no more than 6 months|
|1st Offense||Fine no less than $1,000, but no more than $1,500, or, fine and imprisonment for no more than 6 months|
|3rd and Each Subsequent Offense||Fine no less than $1,500, but no more than $2,000, or, fine and imprisonment for no more than 6 months|
Reckless Driving vs. Drunk Driving / DUI
Both reckless driving and DUI are misdemeanors in Nevada. Both are punished my fine and jail time. However, reckless driving has far less consequences than drunk driving or DUI. For example, if you apply for a job, your employers will look much more favorable to your reckless driving charge than to a drunk driving or DUI charge on your record.
As a rule, Las Vegas attorneys try to get a 1st offense DUI reduced to a reckless driving. This is done by negotiating with the Clark County District Attorney’s office to reduce the charge after completion of the minimum DUI requirements. The minimum DUI requirements are: $685 fine, DUI School, Victim Impact Panel, and Stay Out Of Trouble Order.
Is It Possible to Avoid the Drunk Driving or DUI conviction?
Avoiding a drunk driving conviction is possible, but very difficult because the Nevada legislature in NRS 484C.420 states that plea bargaining is restricted.
"A prosecuting attorney shall not dismiss a charge of violating the provisions of NRS 484C.110 or 484C.120 in exchange for a plea of guilty, guilty but mentally ill or nolo contendere to a lesser charge or for any other reason unless the attorney knows or it is obvious that the charge is not supported by probable cause or cannot be proved at the time of trial."
"Wet Reckless" Charge vs. Regular "Dry Reckless" Charge
The state of Nevada does not have a "Wet Reckless" charge and doesn’t differentiate between "Wet Reckless" and "Dry Reckless" (regular charge). In Nevada, reckless driving is reckless driving.
How Long Does a Reckless Driving Charge Will Stay on Your Record?
You may seal a reckless driving conviction two(2) years after the close of the case. See Record Sealing in Nevada article for information on record sealing.
Can I Represent Myself in a Reckless Driving Case?
You should hire a licensed Nevada attorney to represent you on your reckless driving charge. An attorney can get the charge and the fine reduced and occasionally, dismissed.
How Much Attorney Charge for a Reckless Driving Case?
It depends of many circumstances. We invite you to speak with a reckless driving and DUI attorney at Heshmati & Associates about your case.
Heshmati & Associates: Las Vegas DUI Attorneys s
The Law Offices of Heshmati & Associates handles dozens DUI cases every week. If you are arrested for reckless driving, drunk driving or DUI /DWI, call attorney Parviz Heshmati at 702-432-1000 to discuss your case. Initial consultation is free.
Heshmati & Associates represent clients in Las Vegas, Henderson, North Las Vegas, Summerlin South, Boulder City, Laughlin, Mesquite, Clark County and throughout the surrounding areas of Nevada. The office is located at 515 S. 7th Street in downtown Las Vegas.
Walk-ins are always welcome!
Payment plans are available.
Additional Resources: Reckless Driving
Points for Reckless Driving. DMV.org provides information for Nevada traffic penalties. For reckless driving you get 8 points. Points are deleted after one year from the conviction date, while the violation remains permanently on your record.