Hit and Run Charges in Las Vegas, Nevada
Hit and Run / Leaving the Scene of an Accident
It is a criminal offense in Nevada to leave the scene of an accident. Nevada law requires both drivers to stay on the scene, even if the accident is not their fault. If either driver willfully leaves the scene of an accident - they are committing a crime.
Nevada State Law
Under NRS (Nevada Revised Statutes) 484E.030, both drivers must provide the following:
- VIN #
- Driver’s license, upon request
The police who arrive on the scene are also entitled to this information. Traffic citations may be issued if this information is not present.
Parked Car Hit and Run
If the vehicle was in a parking lot and unattended, in Nevada the driver has a legal duty to attempt to find the owner of a vehicle or leave a written note with contact information.
The driver also has a duty to tell the police about the accident.
Hit and Run Accident:
Felony or Misdemeanor?
The hit and run accident in Nevada can be charged as a felony or misdemeanor. If the accident is only property damage - the charge is a misdemeanor. If the accident resulted in a body injury or death - the charge is a Category B felony.
Misdemeanor Hit and Run - Penalties
Penalties for misdemeanor hit and run accident include:
- Up to six months in jail
- A fine of up to $1,000
- 6 points against your license
Felony Hit and Run - Penalties
If the car accident resulted in death or bodily injury, then leaving the scene is a Category B felony.
Penalties for felony hit and run accident include:
- 2-20 years in prison
- $2,000 to $5,000 in fines
- DMV license suspension or revocation
These penalties can vary based on the facts of the case. If there are previous DUI convictions within the state's defined period, the punishment most likely will be enhanced.
If you are arrested for leaving the scene after the car or truck accident, it is important to remember that you have a constitutional right to remain silent. Moreover, you have the right for an attorney to advise you regarding your rights.
Contact the office of Heshmati & Associates at 702-432-1000 as soon as possible to discuss your case.
Complex Hit and Run Cases
Some hit and run accidents are very complex, involve many injured victims and a number of vehicles. In cases like this, the driver may be charged with reckless driving, bodily injury, and vehicular homicide, in addition to other charges.
DUI Hit and Run Accidents
Often hit and run offenders are under the influence of alcohol or drugs. They don't want to get caught while being intoxicated and leave the scene of a serious accident, hoping that even if they get arrested later, it will be hard to prove that they were intoxicated during the accident.
The law changed on October 1, 2015. Under the new law in Nevada, the driver is facing 2 - 20 years in prison with no probation for fleeing the scene of the crime, the same as felony DUI. Also, the driver may be punished separately for each victim who suffered bodily injury or death.
Traffic Laws for School Zones
As of October 1, 2015 the new traffic laws forbids making U-turns in school zones and changing lanes to pass other vehicles in school crossing areas. For details, or how the new Nevada traffic laws can effect your case, call 702-432-1000 to speak with an attorney.
Heshmati & Associates:
Las Vegas Hit and Run Attorneys
When you are investigated for leaving the scene of an accident, the expertise of a knowledgeable hit and run attorney will prove to be very valuable.
The attorneys at Heshmati & Associates know how to handle hit and run cases. In the past few years, they represented dozens of clients accused of leaving the scene of an accident in Las Vegas.
To schedule an appointment, call at 702-432-1000. The initial consultation is always free and confidential.
Heshmati & Associates office is located in downtown Las Vegas at 515 S. 7th Street.
Walk-ins are welcome!
Criminal defense attorneys at Heshmati & Associates represent clients in Las Vegas, North Las Vegas, Henderson, Laughlin, Mesquite, and throughout Nevada.
Hit and Run Accidents
New Law Toughens Penalties for Hit-And-Run Drivers. The new bill signed into law provides stiffer penalties for hit-and-run drivers in Nevada.
New Traffic Laws for Hit and Run Accidents. Effective October 1, 2015, the law forbids making U-turns in school zones.